There are 5 main direct pathways to immigrate to Canada.


Express Entry Program


Provincial Nominee Programs


Family Sponsorship Programs


In-Canada Asylum Program


Business Immigration

1- Express Entry Program

What is an Express Entry Immigration System and How Does it Work?

Introduced in 2015, Express Entry is the application management system for Canada’s three most popular immigration programs: the Canadian Experience Class, the Federal Skilled Worker Program, and the Federal Skilled Trades Program.

With Canada having the lowest unemployment rate and the highest number of job vacancies on record, an aging population, and a low birth rate, the importance of reopening the country to qualified skilled workers has now become an ever more pressing goal for the Canadian government.

The Canadian government will gradually increase its annual Express Entry admissions to more than 110,000 immigrants in 2024. 

How does Express Entry work?

Candidates eligible for any of these programs can create a profile on IRCC’s website, where they will be awarded a CRS score based on their human capital characteristics.

The top-scoring candidates receive an Invitation to Apply (ITA) in draws held approximately every two weeks, and can then apply for permanent residency. Once approved, IRCC issues them a Confirmation of Permanent Residence (COPR). 

Express Entry is the fastest pathway for foreign nationals looking to live in Canada. On average, the entire Express Entry process can take from 6 to 12 months. The processing time starts the day that the IRCC receives your complete application and ends when they make a decision.

You need to have a minimum of 67 points out of 100 to be eligible to apply under the Express Entry program. The Canada Express Entry process follows a points-based system for classifying applicants seeking to settle in Canada. 

The 67 Points System

  • Age: 12 points. Applicants between the ages of 18 and 35 are eligible for high scores. 
  • Work Experience: 15 points. 
  • Language: 28 points. 
  • Education: 25 points. 
  • Arranged Employment: 10 points.
  • Adaptability: 10 points.

The points are awarded to candidates based on a Comprehensive Ranking System or CRS.

There is no specific age limit requirement for any Canadian immigration program. That said, in most categories of economic immigration, applicants 25-35 receive the maximum points. 

You need to score a minimum of 6 in your IELTS to qualify for any immigration programs to Canada. That is equivalent to CLB(Canadian Language Benchmark) Band 7. To prove your English proficiency, you should take the IELTS General Training test, which is the preferred test for immigration to Canada.

How do you start the process?

  • Create an Express Entry Profile and submit your application
  • Accurate  assessment of your points
  • Find your NOC ( National Occupation Classification)
  • Take a Language test ( IELTS or.and TEF)
  • Apply for diploma credential evaluation

Provincial Nominee Programs

Canadian provinces set certain criteria to accept individuals for immigrantion to their territory. Candidates may apply for immigration directly to the provincial government. Successful applicants  with provincial nomination will further submit applications to the  Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) for permanent residence. Each province creates a selection process based on the demand for economic development of the region. Please visit the official websites of each province for more information about the available immigration programs.

  • Alberta
  • British Columbia
  • Manitoba
  • New Brunswick
  • Newfoundland and
  • Labrador
  • Northwest Territories
  • Nova Scotia
  • Ontario
  • Prince Edward Island
  • Saskatchewan
  • Yukon

What are the main selection criteria for the Provincial Nominee Program?

Each province and territory targets a certain group of individuals, who are likely to contribute to the economic growth of the country.  The programs are mainly for professionals who have a certain level of education, work experience and good English or French language skills. Applicants must also demonstrate their intent to live in that province when they become a permanent resident of Canada. 

Applicants of the following categories are considered as a great asset for the provinces’ economic development:

  • International students 
  • Business people
  • Skilled workers
  • Semi-skilled workers